It is currently Mon 16 Dec 2019 11:01 GMT
Change font size

Latest Message from British Expat:

• Five questions about Slovakia – Quick Quiz
    To your average Briton, Slovakia is one of Europe's less well-known countries. Why not do something to change that sad state of affairs with our Quick Quiz?

Poland

Moving to Poland

Moving to Poland

Postby UKer » Mon 20 Feb 2006 11:12 GMT

I love the UK, I really do. I have lived in about five countries now and the none of them are perfect, but the UK seems to shade it above the rest (well, in summer anyway!!).

Having said that, I am thinking about moving to Poland in a couple of years. I have a house there already down in the mountains, and my wife is Polish. We also have a daughter (two soon) and would like another one in the next year or so.

I have two concerns, both linked. Coming back in old age, and my job (I work in IT). The reason I am thinking about moving is that having a much slower pace of life is quite appealing (I am 31). I could work on a farm or as a labourer during summer, and maybe work on the skifields in winter (not skiing necessarily!). Failing that, there is a reasonable size town not too far away (Novy Targ) and I am sure I could pick something up (maybe teaching English). Hell, I could even do something completely different like learn to be a builder, plumber, plaster, or something. My house here should be mortgage free by then, so I intend to live off the rent from that (I could easily get £750/month currently, but even on £500 I would be OK), as well as doing whatever I can for work over there. Because I have the rent from my house here, I won't need to earn much, hence don't need to get into another office job. I could also, at least for a few years, contract back in the UK for three months a year and take another £10k/year back to Poland.