It is currently Thu 23 Nov 2017 09:34 GMT
Change font size

ICT and electrical

wire in a cooker and hob

All about Internet service providers, cable and satellite TV, telephones, electrical goods, power supply...

wire in a cooker and hob

Postby nonez » Thu 10 May 2007 10:31 GMT

hi..how easy is it to wire in a cooker and hob in bulgaria. uk no problem with cooker boxes .i have not seen any houses in bulgaria do they have them or do they do it another way .any info please
Posted by:
nonez

Bulgarian Wiring

Postby CR » Fri 14 Sep 2007 11:21 GMT

Hi, Im quite new to bulgaria, we have just got back from our first visit where we purchased two houses, one as a holiday home and one to renovate and sell.
I am a UK electrician, living in France, I did some checking while there on the basics, so although this info will not be complete it should help.

The bulgarian electrical system 220v at 50htz is of course compatible, we visited several houses and did not see a consumer unit (fuse box) it seems that the bulgarian system works much like the french system, you get two incomming wires, possitive and nutral, you may have to supply your own earth (as is the case in france) one agent tried to tell me that the earth is done at the nearest post, and indeed it did look like the post had a earth spike, but there where still only two wires going to the house, so therefore it was not earthed.

I checked supplies at a local DIY store and they do sell consumer units, your house may allready have one? if you tell me what you have, or email me a photo I may be able to advise better, but if you do not have one (as seems to be the case in a lot of older houses) then you need to fit one, the fuse trip outs are all single fused (its just the positive thats fused like the uk, its both in france) there does not seem to be a dedicated spare feed for cookers, the bulgarians seem to just plug them in, but I would advice a dedicated 20amp spare.