It is currently Sat 24 Aug 2019 15:27 GMT
Change font size

Latest Message from British Expat:

• Five pub quiz questions – Quick Quiz
    As a change from our usual helping of country-related trivia, here's a tasty selection of five "pub quiz" type general knowledge questions. Have a go!

Working in Malta

UK Job 'Hot desk' from Malta

What are the rules post-EU accession? What is the likely demand for your services? NO ADVERTISING - adverts belong in our classifieds section. Ads, self-promotion etc will be deleted.

UK Job 'Hot desk' from Malta

Postby whunt18885 » Fri 12 Sep 2014 15:59 GMT

Hi All

As a complete novice I am after some advice on the legal / practical issues on working in Malta. Hopefully someone can help.

Ok so both myself (UK Born citizen) and my girlfriend (Slovakian Citizen working in UK for last 8 years) are looking at moving to Malta, I will be looking for seperate advice on buying a property nearer the time at the moment I am after some advice on the practicalities of earning a wage in Malta.

I currently work for a small IT support firm in the UK, I earn £17k a year. My work consists of providing telephone and remote support to a group of other small businesses. I do not do any site visits so all I need for my job is a computer with an internet connection and a VOIP Phone to accept incoming calls and make outgoing calls (cheaply).

With the above in mind how difficult would it be from a legal / tax standpoint for me to work in Malta ? Would I still need to have a registered address in the UK ? Can I have my wages paid into a Malta bank account ? Does my boss need to fill in lots of forms etc ? Am I likely to be financially worse off than if I just stay in the UK (taking into account inflated food prices / cost of living etc)?

Also how does it work with healthcare, Do I need private health insurance ?