It is currently Fri 6 Dec 2019 07:59 GMT
Change font size

Latest Message from British Expat:

• Five questions about Slovakia – Quick Quiz
    To your average Briton, Slovakia is one of Europe's less well-known countries. Why not do something to change that sad state of affairs with our Quick Quiz?

Money matters

Desperate to start work.

No, really... it does!
But does it matter more in Malta than at home?

NO ADVERTISING - financial services adverts belong in our classifieds section. Get-rich-quick schemes belong in the trash.

Desperate to start work.

Postby DaveT » Tue 1 Apr 2014 13:42 GMT

Hi everyone. My name is Dave and I'm a registered nurse from the U.K. Mid last December I made an application for registration with the council for nurses and midwives (without which I cannot work in Malta as a nurse). I keep phoning the registrar but he doesn't seem to know anything. I had no idea the process would be this lengthy.

I have a job lined up, but things are getting pretty tight, I can't see us making the rent this month and I'm expecting the utility bills any time now. Does anyone know if I can claim any sort of benefit over here? I'd hate to do something like that, but can't see any other option. :brickwall:
Reminder: Premium Membership is required for access to private messages. Sign up now!
Posted by:
DaveT
Free member

Postby gozomark » Tue 1 Apr 2014 13:59 GMT

Tricky one

I'm guessing you haven't applied for your eResidence card yet, as you intend on doing it as employed person ?

Have you registered with the ETC as looking for a job - I guess no, as you've found a job!

your status in Malta is not entirely clear - you are probably still a tourist, so you are probably still a resident of the UK
Posted by:
gozomark
Site Admin

Postby DaveT » Tue 1 Apr 2014 14:26 GMT

Thanks for your quick reply gozomark. I have a social security number here.
Reminder: Premium Membership is required for access to private messages. Sign up now!
Posted by:
DaveT
Free member