It is currently Sun 18 Aug 2019 23:33 GMT
Change font size

Latest Message from British Expat:

• Five pub quiz questions – Quick Quiz
    As a change from our usual helping of country-related trivia, here's a tasty selection of five "pub quiz" type general knowledge questions. Have a go!

Money matters

Desperate to start work.

No, really... it does!
But does it matter more in Malta than at home?

NO ADVERTISING - financial services adverts belong in our classifieds section. Get-rich-quick schemes belong in the trash.

Desperate to start work.

Postby DaveT » Tue 1 Apr 2014 13:42 GMT

Hi everyone. My name is Dave and I'm a registered nurse from the U.K. Mid last December I made an application for registration with the council for nurses and midwives (without which I cannot work in Malta as a nurse). I keep phoning the registrar but he doesn't seem to know anything. I had no idea the process would be this lengthy.

I have a job lined up, but things are getting pretty tight, I can't see us making the rent this month and I'm expecting the utility bills any time now. Does anyone know if I can claim any sort of benefit over here? I'd hate to do something like that, but can't see any other option. :brickwall:
Reminder: Premium Membership is required for access to private messages. Sign up now!
Posted by:
DaveT
Free member

Postby gozomark » Tue 1 Apr 2014 13:59 GMT

Tricky one

I'm guessing you haven't applied for your eResidence card yet, as you intend on doing it as employed person ?

Have you registered with the ETC as looking for a job - I guess no, as you've found a job!

your status in Malta is not entirely clear - you are probably still a tourist, so you are probably still a resident of the UK
Posted by:
gozomark
Site Admin

Postby DaveT » Tue 1 Apr 2014 14:26 GMT

Thanks for your quick reply gozomark. I have a social security number here.
Reminder: Premium Membership is required for access to private messages. Sign up now!
Posted by:
DaveT
Free member