It is currently Fri 15 Nov 2019 05:08 GMT
Change font size

Repatriation

New UK border rules

Here's where to discuss the practicalities and issues involved in moving back to the UK.

New UK border rules

Postby sandman » Wed 14 Nov 2012 06:56 GMT

After being an expat for over 20 years I had planned to return to life in UK in spring 2013 and assumed no problem in my Sri Lankan wife ( for 9 years) coming with me as a spouse and getting 'indefinite leave to remain' . Before 9 July 2012 she would have got immediate 'leave to remain' and within 3 years a British passport However, under new rules from July 9th 2012, not only do i have to provide a file full of evidence of our genuine marriage, I have to show an income of no less than 18,600 p a in UK, which might be hard since I am going to retire there. Added to that they won't count my pension until I have been recieving it for over 6 months ( I get it July2013) and although I can show that I have adequate savings to compensate for the shortcoming on income, they won't count my offshore fixed deposits. So I had to transfer at least 62,500 pounds into an onshore instant access ac paying less interest and deducting tax, AND I have to have it there for 6 months before we caneven apply for my wife's visa. Assuming we meet all these new strict requirements, we now have to live in UK for 5 yearsbefore getting indefinite stay and approx 6 years for the passport ! . I can see the need for immigration control but although I am a British born national, I am being subjected to the same rules as an immigrant who has recently moved to Uk and clocked up his 3 years and wants to bring his family in. I would have expected some different treatment from my home country. What happened to an Englishman's rights ? I feel humiliated and insulted by the UK Borders. If only I had known these changes were coming before July.
Have other people found any way around these new rules ?
peterjakiro@yahoo.com
Posted by:
sandman