It is currently Wed 20 Nov 2019 08:47 GMT
Change font size

Repatriation

Repatriation: freelancer with Japanese wife

Here's where to discuss the practicalities and issues involved in moving back to the UK.

Repatriation: freelancer with Japanese wife

Postby Jameswh77 » Fri 11 Jul 2014 18:36 GMT

I've been living in Germany for 7 years and married for 5. We are interested to move to UK but it seems impossible with the new laws as I apparently need a job with 18k. I am a freelancer and earn way more than that but I want to remain self employed.

Should I basically give up and hope the laws change one day so we can go back, or are they ways around this in my situation?

Any advice appreciated, and would love to hear from anyone in the same boat.
Posted by:
Jameswh77

Postby Dave » Sat 12 Jul 2014 01:05 GMT

Hi, and welcome. Sorry to hear about your situation.

On the face of it, it sounds as if you may be covered by the EU's freedom of movement laws - if your main residence was in Germany for all that time and if your wife has an EEA family permit to accompany you there.
EU Rights Clinic: UK Changes Rules on Surinder Singh Route

It certainly sounds as if you were making 'genuine and effective use of the [freedom of movement] rights'. Good luck. :-)
British Newspapers Online - your handy guide to the UK's national, regional and local press!
ErgoGuides - Great travel and business eBooks from British Expat!
Posted by:
Dave
Site Admin

Postby Jameswh77 » Sat 12 Jul 2014 20:42 GMT

Thanks for your help.

That does sound promising indeed!