It is currently Sat 30 May 2020 09:23 GMT
Change font size

Chinwags

How can people get so fat?

Talk about the weather, make new friends, comment on anything, pop in to say "hello". [Please DO NOT post country-specific questions here - they belong on the relevant country forum in the In-Country Experts Forum.]

How can people get so fat?

Postby Kay » Sat 15 Dec 2012 10:15 GMT

Have a look at the photo at the top-right of this article.
http://www.businessinsider.com/retrofit ... ss-2012-12

Urgh! The article itself is promoting an expensive weight-loss method but I just wanted to share the photo with you. What was your response to it?
Not Delia - Foodie blog with lots of reviews and recipes.
Posted by:
Kay
Site Admin

Postby Graeme » Sat 15 Dec 2012 17:57 GMT

I think it's disgusting personally, but I have fat issues! I work in health care and when ever I have a large person drag themselves in complaining of sore hips knees back ankles etc I really have to bite my tongue. I try to explain delicately that every time you walk about 4 times body weight goes through the axial skeleton, your joints are not able to handle that. An extra 50 pounds body weight equates to an extra 200 pounds through your hip/knee/ankle every single step you take.
I understand that trying to stop eating is difficult as, unlike smoking you don't just stop eating, you have to reduce. You still get the mouth feeling, the teasing of the taste buds but without the feeling satiety that they crave. Unfortunately they just have to summon up the willpower from somewhere and do it.