anyone living in Burma?

anyone living in Burma?

Postby Anca_wade » Fri 06 May 2005 04:02

Hi!
I'm an English teacher living in the Philippines at the moment. My husband is considering taking a new job in Rangoon, Burma.

I've looked up on the internet info regarding living there, but I wasn't very succesful.

I would like to know a few things:
* how polluted it is? (after Manila we're desperate for some fresh air)
* are there any good gyms with sauna and swimming pool?
* how easy/safe is to get out of the city?
* can you get DSL at home?

Any other info will very much appreciated.
Thanks a lot,
Anca
Anca_wade

Postby Dave » Fri 06 May 2005 07:06

Hi, Anca, and welcome to the forum.

I'm no expert on Burma, but I'm not altogether surprised you couldn't find much on the Internet about Burma - the military regime there (SPDC - State Peace and Development Council) don't allow their citizens free access to the Internet, so there's not much information available. (For that reason alone I'd be amazed if you could get DSL.) The SPDC have renamed both Rangoon and Burma - have you tried searching for info on Yangon and Myanmar instead?

The economy is in a dire state and, the last I heard, it was getting worse rather than better. From that point of view you're unlikely to find gyms, though pollution is unlikely to be a problem unless you're right on top of a factory.

Even if travel out of the city is possible, your movements are likely to be monitored carefully - there have been several cases of politically aware foreigners trying to spread literature that the regime doesn't like - pro-democracy, pro-Aung San Suu Kyi and her party, all that sort of stuff.

Sorry if none of this sounds very encouraging. By all accounts the people are lovely, but desperately poor and with little prospect of getting rid of their military rulers any time soon.
British Newspapers Online - your handy guide to the UK's national, regional and local press!