Nova Scotia

Atlantic coast or Pacific coast? Prairies or cities? So many choices in a country of Canada's size... why not post here and discuss the options with others?

Nova Scotia

Postby Greenyuk » Mon 05 Dec 2011 15:36

Hi all im new here signed up earlier. me and my wife are planing on moving to Canada in a couple of years. We are just waiting on my wife Holly to sort her training out, she is currently a team leader with a care home but will be doing her nursing to become a RN. I am currently an Electrician.
Basically we just want some advice on the Weather in Nova Scotia thats where we have been looking, We like the idea of lots of space and the rural lifestyle. We have read lots on the internet the last few weeks about Winter getting down to -6 or so. However we have also been told by people that it can be -40? so we basically thought we'd ask the locals to see what it is really like.

We want some heat in the summer and want snow in the winter :)
how much snow is normal?

Thank you for your help. Sorry If this is posted in the wrong section.
Greenyuk
Free member

Postby Greenyuk » Tue 06 Dec 2011 17:54

any one :)
Greenyuk
Free member

Postby Graeme » Tue 06 Dec 2011 20:28

Ideally you'd want Bernie to reply as he lives there, but he's not on here as much as he was. I live the other side of Canada about as far away from Nova Scotia as you are. All I can tell you is what I see on the news. The winters are cold and can easily get down to minus 20, summers can be warm, but not hot. The scenery is amazing, the people friendly and the cost of living very reasonable. My sister lives in PEI and loves it, I've been over to visit and it is very nice indeed, although it seemed like going back in time 20 years to me.
Let me know if you want some more info and I'll see what I can dig out.
Graeme
:)
Hungry for magazines from Britain? Visit the main web site at http://www.britishexpat.com and satisfy that craving!
Graeme
Site Admin