Wanting to move to Canada.

This forum is for all the jumbled up info about Canada. We've asked that, on the info forums, you please post on the relevant forums, start new threads for new topics, and please keep on topic. Otherwise the info is too hard too find for those coming after, and the already overworked Mods end up having to repeatedly answer the same questions. (If your posting is locked in here, please feel free to post again in the appropriate place.)

Wanting to move to Canada.

Postby Scotsgirl » Tue 18 Dec 2007 15:37

Hi everyone, I just wanted some information on what its like to live in Canada.

I know quite alot of people who live there and love it and say the quality of life is double that of living in Scotland.

I have never been to Canada though I can get cheap flights no problem as I work in the aviation industry.

I've heard alot about the Toronto area and people have been telling me that its the best place to be. Though I was wondering which area had a comfortable and not too high cost of living where the wage could not meet the inflation because I dont want to struggle.

Summers are really important to me as I'd love long ones with cold winters, dont bother me. I've heard people say that Vancounver is damp alot which is the same here im trying to get away from that.

Areas i'd like to consider are

Calgary, AB
Toronto, ON
Regina, SK
Kelowna, BC

Im an outdoors person and love to hunt and fish, I dont want to live in a city but near (20 miles at most) I like to be away from hussle and bustle, a small town would be nice or a suburb.

What is the crime level like in these places? I want to be safe too.

Somewhere that the housing isn't mega expensive like here. I've heard people say property in Canada is cheaper than here, thank god.

I guess I could get a job at a major airport, my partner is in the engineering industry and im sure he'd have no problem getting employment. He is a US citizen also.