Provinces in Canada: abbreviations

Each of Canada’s ten provinces and three territories has its own code (two letters for most of them, three or even four in a minority of cases) which you’ll find used time and time again when you’re dealing with Canadian federal and provincial officials. Here’s a reference list of them.

  • AB = Alberta*
  • BC = British Columbia*
  • MB = Manitoba*
  • NB = New Brunswick*
  • NFLD = Newfoundland and Labrador*
  • NWT = Northwest Territories
  • NS = Nova Scotia*
  • NV = Nunavut
  • ON = Ontario
  • PEI = Prince Edward Island*
  • QC = Quebec**
  • SK = Saskatchewan*
  • YK = Yukon*

* = has Provincial Nominee Program

** = Quebec has own selection immigration class

This entry was posted in Canada and tagged by Kay McMahon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kay McMahon

Kay has been an expat for nearly 30 years. She set up the British Expat website back in early 2000, whilst living in London and missing the expat life. These days she spends much of her time lugging computers and cameras around the world. (Dave gets to deal with all the really heavy stuff.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *