News, humour and information for Brits worldwide!

Indonesia: Independence Day

Indonesia proclaimed its independence on 17 August 1945, following the unconditional surrender of the occupying Japanese forces on 15 August. The declaration (Proklamasi Kemerdekaan Indonesia) was drafted by Sukarno (named President), Mohammad Hatta (Vice President) and Soebardjo and ushered in a four-year diplomatic and military campaign to establish the new state against opposition from the pre-War colonial power, the Netherlands.

The Netherlands finally accepted Indonesian independence on 1949 and formally recognised 17 August 1945 as the founding date of the new state in 2005.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS